Humour

God sure has a sense of humour.

I’m amazed how God often uses things which seem insignificant, to protect us and for His glory.

I wear a purity ring. Don’t make a mistake. I LOVE this ring. I look after it better than my cell phone or the way I make my bed. It gets treasured with a lot of care. 😀

This past weekend, I was in town with my mother, and on the way, we stopped at a petrol station for a quick visit to the restroom. It was rugby day, everyone was wearing the green and gold shirts and spirits were high. As I parked the car, I noticed three young men right in front of me. The one in particular was really looking at me.
Now, I can tell real quick by the way a guy looks at you what his intentions are. And the looks I got here were of those that you can dump on the ground and trample on, not worth a cent.

My immediate response: ignorance. As I got out of the car, my ring was in perfect view of his sight, and his attitude totally changed.
I can just imagine what went through his mind… “Oh no, she’s married”.

I felt like kissing my ring. :mrgreen:

Not only does my ring help to protect me when situations like these pop up, but it’s a testimony to others. Many people have noticed it and asked me about it. God has given me opportunities to defend my faith and speak up for my beliefs.

When I was in the States, a certain person asked me if I’m engaged (after seeing my ring). I told him, “No, but I am already taken. I just don’t know by who!”

Use your imagination and God will do the humour. We serve a God so amazing, we simply can’t keep silent. If words can’t be used, then we resort to other means.

If you don’t yet have a purity ring, and you’ve made a commitment to keep yourself pure, then do yourself a favour and get one. If you don’t know where, I’ll be more than willing to help. 🙂

6 responses to “Humour

  1. It’s kind of like having two strong, protective looking brothers and Dad!

    I love my purity ring too. Nobody’s ever mistaken my ring for a though. It must be because it says “PURITY” right on the front. 🙂

    Great post!

  2. Kasie plays with her ring though! lol Nate and I were teasing her about it the other night! lol any way Yes I dont have one and never really thought about getting one until rather recently! So I am going to get one soon!

  3. Wonderful post! Your blog is really neat!
    I personally do not have a purity ring, but have thought about getting one, but we shall see! When someone asks me, (or looks at me funny), I just tell them right up front and most of the time they back off! 😉 So, far the Lord has protected me from a lot of those rough situations! PRAISE THE LORD!!!
    Again great post!

    Love in Christ,
    Antoinette K.

  4. Hello Salome,

    I found your blog on Feelin Feminine, and I was really blessed and encouraged by what I found here! I have alot of personal convictions about the whole dating thing, and I was very pleasantly surprised to find that there are others who are very confident and even vocal about their beliefs in keeping themselves, emotions and all, for only one person. I was greatly encouraged by your writings, and in particular the post where you mentioned you were out in the community talking to people and you were able to speak to the abused girl and give her love and hope. That was such a blessing – I’ve wanted to do something like that so much, but here in the States we have so many well-off people that it’s hard to find people in dire need. But I’m sure they do exist, and that God will send them my way if I really ask for them. Thanks again! I shall try to come again!:)

    ~Nastya

    http://www.daughtersoflight.wordpress.com

    http://www.tcosmopolitan.wordpress.com

    http://www.stilllifebynastya.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

