If God wills…

This is probably the most difficult thing to submit to in life: God’s will. However, without it, we would be walking six foot under the ground.

The question is: do we apply God’s will to our lives? Do we grant Him access to every sphere in the vastness of our heart’s universe? Or perhaps rather, the road it too difficult and expensive to travel, so we become like a shooting star, firing away all of God’s reminders, love and convictions.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about a certain concept which has been growing rampant amongst us as young people, and I admit, at times, I myself am guilty of this too.

Let me explain…

We as Christian youth have decided to keep ourselves pure, physically and emotionally so that, when we get married, we may bless our future spouse and bless God by the holy and gloryfying way that we’ve lived. These are after all, God’s commandments for us.

Here’s a common line of thought: I’m keeping myself pure until the day I get married.
Personally, there’s nothing wrong with that way of thinking. However, by saying that, you are assuming that you will get married. Why? Because you’re keeping yourself pure.

We’ve adapted a concept that we will get married someday, and hopefully soon, therefore even more reason to keep ourselves pure.

Marriage is a God-given, natural instinct and desire that is within us. However, not everyone will get married. You will only get married if marriage is within God’s will for your life.
So does that mean that we are commanding marriage from God? Maybe. Maybe not. But our purpose is solely, to find God’s will for our lives, and stay therein. If marriage is within that will, you’ll find it in God’s time.

It’s sad that we’ve given in to an idea that we will all get married, and we keep on wondering when it will be.
This concept has quenched our godly fires, it has stilled our love and desire for God’s work and it keeps on stiffening our knees since we are no longer able to fall down on our knees and cry out to God for His mercy on our lives.

A desire to get married is not wrong. But we should check our attitudes. Do we live today in expectation to get married tomorrow? Or do we live today in anticipation to see God’s will manifested in our lives, today and tomorrow, be it marriage or singleness?

I’m not quite sure if these musings are comprehendable, but I pray they may mean something to someone.

God’s will is part of the ultimate sacrifice, where we give up our everything to gain all of Christ. It’s not merely a commandment we have to obey or a task we have to perform, but rather, as it’s written in 1 Kings 3:5, it should be the deepest desire of our heart. We should beg God to make us restless until His will has been revealed and instilled within our hearts.

God’s will should be our focus today, tomorrow and forever. Marriage is possibly just a by-product of your obedience to God’s will, as He sees the desires of your heart.

9 responses to “If God wills…

  1. Yes, I heartily agree Salome’! 🙂 I too have found that to be true in young ladies today and in myself as well.

    After making these commitments to purity/courtship, I would have these great desires to be married and I would daydream and wish and hope for it. But my spiritual life was becoming dull. I became depressed when God didn’t seem to be working very quickly to bring my “prince” along. I finally realized just what you said above…and I asked the Lord to forgive me for putting something that I wanted ahead of His will for my life. After all, being in God’s will is far better than anything else! What if I married and it was NOT God’s will for my life! What if He has some greater plan for my life as a single young woman living for the Lord and being an example to other women and He doesn’t want me to marry? I would be so depressed that I was an “old maid” and bitter towards Him that I wouldn’t be able to be a good worker for Him! (Does that make sense? Hope so! Lol!) 😉

    Anyway, I would encourage all young ladies out there to leave all those dreams and desires of marriage and family up to the Lord and just rest in His provision. If He wants you to marry someday, He will bring it along in His timing, and not before. All the hoping and dreaming will not bring it along any sooner. In the meantime, don’t just prepare for marriage, but prepare yourself to be or do whatever God wills for your future. Read and study your bible, help your family out, and just live with passion for Him! 🙂 Don’t worry about what might/might not happen in the future, God will provide for you!

    Whew, that was a looong comment! Sorry about that! Lol! 🙂

    Blessings to all!
    ~Rachel~

  2. Ahhh, LOOOVVVVEEE long comments Rach. Especially ones as uplifting as that.
    Thanks for the encouragement and your resounding “yes”!
    I think being the same age, you and I share similar thoughts and struggles.
    Anyway… I might email you a little later. I just need to spy out your address. LOL!

  3. Excellent point. I believe it’s God’s will for me to be married someday, but I could easily be wrong, or marriage could be further away from me than I think. I mean, if everything happened MY way (and that would be a frightening thing!) I would be married at age 21, have 12 kids or so, and my husband won’t die until we’re both well into our 90’s.

    But God’s ways aren’t always my ways. In fact, they hardly are. 🙂 Now all I need to do is accept His will for my life no matter what it is. *gulp* It’s so much easier it is to say that than to actually live it out!

    Thanks for the reminder! And BTW, I like your new blog layout. 🙂

  4. You wonked me Kasie! Thanks, I like it too. Something fresh. Worked on it all morning. LOL.

    It’s frightening as you say, to think what things will be like if we had to have things our way.
    Thank God for His love and mercy.

  5. I’ve read a few posts having to do with marriage, and I have to agree. It is sort of presumptuous of all of us to think that we ARE going to get married, I think that way, I know many who do too. I guess we all just need to start praying for God’s guidance though our lives, and we have to realize His will is what’s best for us!

    It is SO very nice to meet you Miss Salome Thank you so much for commenting on my blog!
    God Bless~
    Sharla~

  6. 21 with 12 kids kasie! 12! ROFL OMB THAT IS THE FUNNIES THING! HAHAHAHAH! ok im good sorry… 12….. whoah…. wow…..mmmm no thanks….. not to mention thats not possible but thats beside the point…. any way… um no ya… Very good point Salome! I know this in my head and even in my heart and soul…… But like a lot of people have problems accepting it. I really need a revival in my life. But I too desire STRONGLY to get Married…. and DANG SOON! lol just not with 12 kids…….. :D! oh and I think God will come back before any of us reach 90… I hope he will…. but I could be wrong!

    Oh and another thing… one reason why I think that so many people think this way is because mostly EVERYONE specialy young women, have a desire to be loved, cherished, adored, taken care of, held, and the list goes on….:D ok im done…

  7. So true, Sissy. Thank you for reminding and being an example of serving God and those He brings into your life, eagerly and enthusiasticly with each opportunity, day in and day out… It is an inspiration for me. I admire what Jesus has done in you!

    I just have to say, after reading the comments here, 🙂 I don’t think 12 children is such a crazy dream or idea! I’m the first born of 10 children, and I’d absolutely be thrilled to have two more precious ones added to our family! 🙂 I’m so thankful my mother asked my daddy to give her womb to God on their wedding night… God has made a testimony to His Name through that trust in Him! My mother is not the most fit, healthy woman and all her pregnancies and deliveries have not been without “risk” but… “They who trust Him wholly, find Him wholly true!”

Leave a Reply

