Leaving a legacy

If I had to get chronically sick today, or leave the country, or perhaps even die, what would people say about me?

I’m reminded of common funeral procedures: this cousin, that uncle and a distant relative or friend, all get up to pay tribute to their lost friend and family member. Funerals are filled with beautiful words and highlight all the good works the deceased has done during his/her life.

Now I don’t want to sound morbid by focussing on death and funerals, although it’s a very good thing to think about. Each day should be lived rejoicing in the knowledge that we are one day closer to going home.
The Bible also teaches us to number our days, and in fact, death should be something that we should welcome, whenever it arrives. But we should not hasten it either, God has His time for everything.

But what REALLY matters in life? Is it all those candies we gave to the street kids, or the last piece of bread that’s been lying in the car that we gave to the homeless beggar?
What will people say about us? What do people say about us now?
The truth is, all the talks after our death will be based on the way we live our lives right now.

Deuteronomy 6:6 – 9:
6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.
7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.
8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.
9 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

That’s what people need to talk about. That’s what they need to see in us. And if they do, it’s what they will talk about.

Frankly, our pictures can be hanged up in galleries and displayed in award ceremonies, but if the face of our hearts is not written, inscribed and sealed in God’s book of life, we can totally forget about even leaving a legacy behind.

What’s your legacy for today? Build it up, day by day, so that you can store great treasures in heaven one day.

6 responses to “Leaving a legacy

  1. Great reminder Salome’! I hope that the legacy I leave behind will be more than just…”she was a nice, sweet young lady” I really do want my life to portray Christ in every way! I really need to work harder on what’s important in life, and not just what’s the “nice” thing to do and be. Thank you for sharing this post with us!

    Love and Hugs!
    ~Rachel~

  2. I want people to remember that I loved and served the Lord my God with all my heart, soul and mind, and burned with such a passion for Him that no one could help but see Christ through me. As I see things now, I have a lot to work on! 🙂 I will never be perfect, but I’m a work in progress.

    What a great reminder for us all!

  3. great post, Lomé!

    I think men’s minds are more about “legacy” than women’s. Our sense of fulfillment is more about “changing and impacting the world, doing something very important, leaving a great legacy which will impact many generations” and women’s is more like “feeling the unconditional love of God, something I just have and anyone will take it away from”.

    Death is something I always think about. I approach death as things that threaten my emotional/financial/relationship/physical life, that is, everything that might hurt me and put my SELF to risk. But I’ve been learning so much how to put that “death” on the death of Jesus Christ so that His resurrected life comes back to those who sent that “death”. Did you get? hehe To expand the Kingdom of God on the earth is what I most long for. I really want to die for Him so that I can feel His resurrection!

    Thanks for the thread! I love it! Blessings.

  4. I actually think about death fairly often. It’s definitely a good thing.

    Reminds me of Ephesians, where the Bible says to “Redeem the time, for the days are evil”.

  5. Very true! Especially as Christians, we want to be remembered as such!

    Don’t worry about fast responses to my comments! Look how long it took me to reply! I hope your house turned out the way you wanted it to!
    God Bless~

Leave a Reply

