Being Christlike

I have often wondered what the term “Christian” means. I could look it up, but as of yet, I haven’t.

Someone once said to me that he’s not yet a Christian because being a Christian means to be like Jesus, and he’s not like Him yet. But he’s trying.

That kind of makes sense, however, even though I myself am not yet like Jesus, and frankly, I’ll never be, because I’m human, I will still humbly call myself a Christian. Here’s why…

I think being a Christian means to be a follower of Christ. Or at least, that’s my rational and realistic interpretation of the term.
However, carrying the name of a Christian requires a lot of responsibility. People will want to see the Christ-likeness in your life. And if you don’t live a Christ-like life, then perhaps you should re-consider your religious name.
As for me: I was a wretched sinner. At times I thought there is no salvation for a person like me. However, God surprised me and He washed my mountain of sins away. I still can’t believe He did it and that I’m really free. It’s too good to be true, but it IS true. He has poured over His beautiful forgiveness and grace over my life and still continues to, and therefore I can humbly call myself a Christian by God’s grace.

I’m striving to become more like Jesus everyday, so that through Jesus’ death on the Cross, I can be more confident in my Christian name.

There are a few examples in the Bible too. Paul wrote to some of the congregations and if I have it correctly, mention is made in the book of Revelation as well, where the church was challenged with their faith and whether they are worthy to be called Christians.

Christ’s name may not be taken in vain, neither can we drag it through the dirt of our sinful life.
I just want God to work in my heart so much that people will see Jesus on my face without a doubt.

Paul challenged the Ephesians, saying they should “live a life worthy of the calling you’ve received”.
Grant me the grace oh God!

2 responses to “Being Christlike

  1. Hi Salome!
    This is a beautiful post. I love the challenge you put out, alongside your victorious testimony. It reminds me of a little book I read, “The Greatest Thing in the World,” by Henry Drummond. It’s based on the verse in 1 Corinthians 13:13, “These three remain: Faith, hope and love, but the greatest of these is love.” Here’s a link to an e-book of it: http://www.ccel.org/ccel/drummond/greatest.toc.html
    It is a great book! I definitely recommend it!
    ~Ellen

  2. Thank you Salome’ for that excellent reminder! Christ should not be taken lightly, and yet, so many times, we don’t take the time to be with Him each day and read His words of wisdom and love. If we strive hard to serve Him each and everyday (not just when we “feel” like it) people will see a difference in us. 🙂

    Blessings dear friend!
    ~Rachel~

Leave a Reply

