Prejudiced

Tons of Christian books and literary works are being written and published every year, on the issue of dating, relationships and courtship.
My eager hand itches every time I spot a new release on the shelf because somewhere, someone is missing the point. Whether it’s the author or the reader, is beyond my decisiveness, but I do have a few thoughts of my own on this extremely static matter.

In the October 2009 edition of Christian Living Today (SA), I stumbled upon an article entitled: For Youth Only: Are you ready for a real relationship?
With this being a Christian publication, and my ever-ready interest in varying opinions on sexual and emotional purity, I hurried to the indicated page.
Here’s an exsert:

How you can have fun without leading someone else into temptation:

  • Watch what you wear
  • Date in public
  • Limit physical touch
  • Courtship is key
  • Build a friendship

While this article focuses on sexual purity, mention is made of the danger of dating. The articles continues to say, “Are you ready for a break-up or for marriage? Those are the only two ways out of a relationship and if you’re not ready for either one, then don’t date.”
That’s is quite the truth.
But sadly, the article contradicts itself by giving advice on what to do if you ARE going to date.

Somewhere along the way, the world, and thus the church, has lost track of the beautiful innocence of purity found in singleness.
I was mentioning to a friend the other day that so much focus is placed on how to have a relationship the right way without sinning whereas the focus on our relationship with Jesus Christ is pushed aside. If we have a living relationship with Him, then we will care what He thinks of us. He will be our guide, our convictor.

Young people are being prejudiced into thinking that dating is good. Just don’t do this, and don’t do that. Then you’ll be fine.
Did we even go onto our knees and ask our Creator if this relationship is His will? Will this benefit His Kingdom on earth? Will it enhance my romance with my Heavenly Prince?

Young people still continually fall into emotional and sexual sin because the heart of the matter is not addressed. Laying out rules of do’s and don’t’s will not help. We need to get back to basics, fall on our knees and tear our hearts open before God. Allow Him to deal with every bit of pretty and disgusting detail we hide there, and then freedom will come. And with freedom, conviction and leading. As well as the excited patience for true love at God’s appointed time.

These are ramblings, however, I wish to continue on the topic in a follow up post. Until then, blessings!

6 responses to “Prejudiced

  1. Hello dear friend! 😀 Excellent post! 😀 Yes, that’s so true!

    When I was first learning about courtship/betrothal and all, this was something I had to learn and come to grips with. That you can’t just have a “list” of what you want the young man you marry to be like, and you can’t just have the “do’s” and “don’t’s” figured out…you need to have a real relations ship with Christ first! If you don’t have that, then you’ll never be able to love your husband as you should.

    So, over the past 3 years or so, I have been trying to focus less on what I want my future husband to be like, and more on how my relationships now are working out…especially my relationship with my Lord. 🙂 It’s hard sometimes, and I lose my focus once in awhile, but God has helped me not be so concerned about “the future” and more focused on my heart and my own maturity and how my relationship with Him and my family is. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing Lome’! 😀 Love and Hugs!
    ~Rachel~

    p.s – Yes, I’ve been meaning to e-mail you as well. 🙂 Busy, busy, busy this time of year…but that’s slowing down now. 😉 I’ll have to write you later today! 😀 Hope all is well with you dear! 😀

  2. What a great post! I feel the same way. We need to be careful about what we read now days. I am praying for you. Love your SSA!!

  3. Pingback: That driving force «·

  4. Amen about “build a friendship.” In a conversation with my mom, she stated something her grandmother told her, “marry a friend. You’re going to get physical with them, and when that physical desire/ infatuation runs out, you’re going to need a foundation for your relationship.”
    🙂

  5. Thanks for this post. It’s very true. Many young and dating Chrstian couples have not even taken into account whether or not God wills them to be in a relationship with one another!!

Leave a Reply

