Giving thanks – Day 1

Many years ago, a friend sent me a basket and said that I could (either with or without my family) write on pieces of paper what we are thankful for, and put it into the basket. We could then revisit the basket after a period of time, it could even be years, and then see what we were thankful for and what God has done.

This is my basket of thankfulness.

Salvation

Where would I be if Jesus didn’t find me?

In the gutters. Filthy. Disgusting. Sickly.

And dead.

I am firstly, and forever thankful that Jesus paid the price for my sins on Calvary, and that the Lord stretched out His arms and opened my mud-filled eyes and annointed them to see His grace.

Thank you Father.

4 responses to “Giving thanks – Day 1

  1. Amen, Salome’! 😀 I’ve been reflecting on that topic myself of late — I can’t express in any words how thankful I am for Christ’s work in my life! 🙂

    How exciting that you are joining me in the thankfulness challenge! {Hugs!} 😀 I love the idea of the basket…beautiful! It’s great to look back and see how God worked in your life at one point and another. 🙂

    Love and Hugs!
    ~Rachel~

  2. I’m also very thankful for salvation. I have this little box on my desk, and when I’m having a difficult day, I’ll write something I’m thankful for on a slip of paper and place it inside. Similar to your basket. Last week, all the new changes in my life caught up with me, and I was crying and angry… basically a mess. So I shook all the slips of paper out of the box and read each one. My problems didn’t magically go away. But I did realize how blessed I am and what an amazing God I serve.

    Thank you for your beautiful post 🙂

  3. I am visiting from 30 Days of Thankfulness. I am Rachel’s Mom. It is important to be thankful. I am grateful Rachel is doing this. It makes me think of all I have to be thankful for. Salvation and my relationship will all the members of the Trinity was my first post also. God Bless.

  4. Thank you Salome for reminding us what is the most important matter to be thankful for.
    I know He appreciate it if we appreciate it and not take it for granted such a great act of love on the cross. It is old yet ever new. How brave His love on the cross. Said He loves us with an everlasting love. Genuine love. Thanks be to God.

Leave a Reply

