Giving thanks – Day 2

Difficulties

It’s the strangest thing to be thankful for. But ‘adding this note to my basket’ allows me to understand in some small way that my trials only come to make me strong.

During the last (approx) 2 months, my family has experienced a vast number of difficulties and challenges. Some small and some big. However, when the huge trials strike, the small ones seem like mountains through your blinking eyes.
We have lost our home, and have not yet found another. My father has been very ill in hospital for the last week and a half, leaving me to run the home while my mom drives to see him every day.
And in between all of the rest, it’s so easy to ask, “Dear Lord, where ARE You?”

Every day, when I get up, I ask God for strength, grace and help. We cannot get bitter. We dare not. I’ve asked for joy in the midst of pain so that even those closest to me may see Jesus shining from my life.

S. Rutherford said:

God hath skill to know what providence will make Christ dearest to thee.

Rejoicing in our trials, tribulations, sufferings, challenges and difficulties is pure joy. As ironic as that may sound, not only does our joy give us strength to sprint over the mountain we’re climbing, but in the long run, it makes it stronger too. And every pain we go through is purposed to glorify the Father in Heaven.

2Consider it wholly joyful, my brethren, whenever you are enveloped in or encounter trials of any sort or fall into various temptations. 3Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                              James 1:2, 3

Thank you Father for my difficulties.

6 responses to “Giving thanks – Day 2

  1. Oh, my sweet friend! I wish you had told me dear so I could have been praying for your family! As you might know, my own family has had their own set of trials through the years, and especially so in this last year or two. I heartily agree with you though…I am also thankful for the trials, though I wish they would not come or might not be so hard to bare, I am thankful that they keep me ever near my Savior! 😀

    “Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee. My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever” ~ Psalm 73:25-26 {my favorite verse!} 🙂

    I *will* be praying for your home situation, your father, and for strength for you and your family! {Hugs dear friend!}

    May God be ever near to you!
    Love always,
    ~Rachel~

  2. I’m sorry your family is going through such a difficult time. I’ll be praying your father will feel better soon and that you’ll find a home. Though I’m not going through something as severe, I can relate to your post. I’m not at the point where I’m ‘joyful’ about my trials yet (I’ll be honest), but I am trying, and someday I hope to be at that stage.

    Also, I’m sorry my blog was giving you trouble. I checked it out, but everything seems normal. Thank you for the comment via email! 🙂

  3. My pastor was just talking about how difficulties help us as we get further into life and can see what God was teaching us in those situations. I’ll be praying that some of these situations will be taken care of and that you will continue to feel God’s hand at work through you and your family’s lives, and especially that your Dad gets to feeling better soon. =) ((hugs))

    Courtney

Leave a Reply

