Giving thanks – Day 3

Femininity

In a world where society continually bombards us with an overflow of messages that women should be men and men should be women, I’d like to thank the Lord for my God-given role on this sin-filled sod.

 26For this reason God gave them over and abandoned them to vile affections and degrading passions. For their women exchanged their natural function for an unnatural and abnormal one,  27And the men also turned from natural relations with women and were set ablaze (burning out, consumed) with lust for one another–men committing shameful acts with men and suffering in their own bodies and personalities the inevitable consequences and penalty of their wrong-doing and going astray, which was [their] fitting retribution.
                                                                                                                                       Romans 1:26, 27

Yesterday, as I was sewing, the thought just struck me. God made me who I am, like I am for a divine reason and for His purpose alone. And with my gender, I MUST glorify Him with my life, my deeds, my thoughts, my words and my everything.

However, if I wasn’t blessed with the role of femininity, I wouldn’t be able to enjoy sewing, cooking and singing the way I do. Where would I go to happily twirl in my skirts? In which mirror would I look to check how much longer my hair has grown in the last week? 😉

There are a few women in the Scriptures who happily embraced their gender and feminine roles but in Luke 1: 47-49, Mary exclaims:

    48For He has looked upon the low station and humiliation of His handmaiden. For behold, from now on all generations [of all ages] will call me blessed and declare me happy and to be envied!
49For He Who is almighty has done great things for me–and holy is His name [to be venerated in His purity, majesty and glory]!

Who could’ve been a happier woman than the Mother of our Lord?! She gave birth to the Messiah Himself.

This is my prayer, that we as women and girls alike, would echo these beautiful words of her quoted in Luke 1:38

Behold, I am the handmaiden of the Lord; let it be done to me according to what you have said.

Thank you Lord, for my femininity.

5 responses to “Giving thanks – Day 3

  1. My DEAR FRIEND!!!!! \o/\o/\o/
    Owwwnnn!!! I had’nt read nothing about you or writed by you anymore!!! Owww, how much I was missing to know what was happening on this pretty heart!! ^^ It’s great to know that God is yet writting your life’s history and learning you about this beautiful femininity He has for us!!
    I was missing you SOOO much, my dear!!!
    Please, let me know more about you!! I sent you a sms a month ago, but I don’t know if you get it!! Tell me, please!!
    And lets get a time to talk someday!!!
    Don’t you have facebook?? If yes, please, add my one: sonhandonacontramao@hotmail.com

    Looooots of kisses and hugs to you, my lovely sister!!! ^^

  2. Femininity. In a world when that is less encouraged by many, it seems even more valuable. I hope to raise my girls to understand their role and be feminine.

  3. I’ve never thought about being thankful for femininity before, but now that I think of it, I’m glad that I’m a girl. And I also love twirly skirts 😉

  4. Thanks for your example of femininity. I learn a lot. I know you make the Lord’s heart very happy if He looks down upon you. Looking forward to more articles from you.

Leave a Reply

