Giving thanks – Day 4

Water

By yesterday, I already knew what I wanted to write about today, but last night as I was brushing my teeth, I knew better.

For some, this natural liquid is a necessity. But to me, it’s a luxury.

Now I live in Africa. In the countryside, out in rural land. In my home, there is running water (except for the last two days) and we have taps, which, if they are opened, water gushes out.
Now it’s not like we went pitching our tents next to the Okavango Delta, and trust me folks, the Nile River is far away.

Living on a farm, our water gets pumped a ways to our house to a tank outside on a daily basis. However, due to a technical failure recently, we’ve been waterless for the last two days (and a number of times in the past). 😉
To brush my teeth means fetching water in a cup. To wash the dishes means carrying water in from the rain tank, and yes… the dishwasher is now there to stare at me.
To bath means back to the rain tank with a 10 litre bucket and with that you get to wash your hair, body, feet and the entire to-do-list. In fact, I’m quite used that.
To do washing, oh well, you just close your eyes and hope you’re in the mood for laundry when this entire system is back up and running.

Living in rural Zululand, I’ve seen some extraordinary ways of living. And indeed, it’s the girls’ job to fetch water from the river, be it far or near.
And I just keep thinking that I have so much to be thankful for, and yet I still find time to complain.

Why is our water tea-coloured? And why do we need to drive to fetch drinking water? Why is…

Excuse me?!

I’ve.Got.Water. Need I something else?

And yet God still chooses to pour down showers from His heavens and let our rain tank overflow, for as I’m typing, the skies’ buckets are dripping.

At all times and for everything giving thanks in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God the Father.
                                                                                                                                                                               Ephesians 5:20

And if I were to be robbed of this untrustworthy supply of water, I am comforted that the Living Water will never run dry.

Thank you Lord, for giving us water. And thank you for pouring out Yourself on our dry land.

———

Psst… I’ve just heard the plumber is down in the valley to fix the pump. Hmm… a shower tonight? 😀

One response to “Giving thanks – Day 4

  1. I moved to a poor area of Europe when I was 12 and for the first time understood what it was like to not have water. We’d only have water 2 or 3 days a week, so I can relate to everything in your post today. Now it only turns off a few times a month, but I still don’t take it for granted. Water is such a luxury. I’m very blessed 🙂

Leave a Reply

