Giving thanks – Day 19

My Mother

Today is my mother’s birthday.

Through all of the hurt, grief and shame I caused over the years, my mother never gave up on me. She stood by me, never ceased to believe that I can be the woman God intended me to be and helped me set my feet straight – be it even from my infant years.

She is my mom, my sister and my friend.

She has run and cared for the household duties of our home faithfully, whether we lacked or enjoyed abundance. Her commitment and wisdom in the hard and difficult times has been an encouragement to all 5 of us, her children. And it is still the same.

Her love is there when we need it most. Her care she provides in the smallest ways. When we are sad, she gives us a shoulder to cry on. When we feel silly, she frowns and decides to laugh with us.

The character of my mother can best be summed up in the following words:

Only God Himself fully appreciates the influence of a Christian mother in the molding of character in her children. 
 ~ Billy Graham
No man succeeds without a good woman behind him. Wife or mother, if it is both, he is twice blessed indeed. 
~ Harold MacMillan
‘Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” ‘(Prov 31:28, 29)

Thank you Lord, for my mother.

—–

Happy birthday, Mom! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

