Giving thanks – Day 23

Safety

This is the world we live in: nothing is safe and safety is nothing. Society’s mindset has been driven to believe in an environment that is constantly surrounded by danger.

People are filled with fear.

I’m not sure what the statistics are currently reflecting, but a couple of years ago, South Africa shamefully held the position for the country with the second highest crime rate in the world. And if that’s not vulgar enough, we already took the lead in rape cases and it is on the increase still.

I’ve been safe most of my life.
I say ‘most’, because I also live in this danger-driven society.
I have had experiences where my life was at risk (due to crime), but as ironic as this sounds, I am still safe.

Why?

Because beyond this world we live in, is a Bigger World still.

For you have not yet come to the rest and to the inheritance which the Lord your God gives you. But when you go over the Jordan and dwell in the land which the Lord your God causes you to inherit, and He gives you rest from all your enemies round about so that you dwell in safety…  (Deut 12:9, 10)

This great, big earth is so small, it can fit into the palm of God’s hand. Why do we make it bigger than our hearts can hold when God Himself is small enough to enfold it all?

One thing I know: God has taught me to pray for His protection – a wall of divine Fire around me, no matter what the circumstances may be or where I may be located.

God is safety.

Thank you Lord, for keeping us safe.

Leave a Reply

