Giving thanks – Day 25

Christmas

The countdown has begun. It’s exactly one month before Christmas and I can feel it in my bones.

Whenever the season arrives, it has always carried that air of celebration and festivity, of joy and happiness, and this one is no different.

Differ you may, but let me tell you, we have reason to be thankful.

Our Christmas tree went up about a week ago. Whenever I enter the kitchen, I tend to stare at it for a while before I carry on where I left off.
But it’s not just that. I flip through a magazine here, read an article there and go to town on another day. It’s all the same. All the decorations hold no attraction over me for their emptiness seems as vast as the explanation they’re asking for.

Do we even know the meaning of Christmas? If I do, why doesn’t the next person know? Do I not share it?

Do you know?
Do you share it?

That is the one and only reason why Jesus was born – to come and share His love with the whole world.
Who are we then, acknowledged as His children, to sit through Christmas, ignorantly decorating our home and eating festive food while souls are being lost?!

May we repent!

For to us a Child is born, to us a Son is given; and the government shall be upon His shoulder, and His name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father [of Eternity], Prince of Peace. (Isaiah 9:6)

Let us then come and bow down before the Christ-child as willing servants who are ready to take His message to others in the cold. God and the angels are waiting with a much bigger celebration.

Thank you Lord for sending us the Christ-child.

Leave a Reply

