Giving thanks – Day 27

Discipline

Know also in your [minds and] hearts that, as a man disciplines and instructs his son, so the Lord your God disciplines and instructs you.  (Deut 8:5)

As a child, discipline was one of my nightmares. Never did I embrace it. I feared it as the big monster that would keep coming back to haunt me whenever I simply ‘made’ a mistake.

Now, as an adult, I have had to teach myself, with God by my side, to love, cherish and nourish discipline and correction.
As we grow older, God’s chastisement comes in different forms. However, it is hard. Unlike our childhood years where we accepted punishment regardless of whether we liked it or not – we knew the reason why – we don’t always understand why the Lord allows certain hardships and difficulties in our lives.

We need to be pruned. Taught. Perfected.

This concept is difficult to describe in words, but can best be felt through personal experience. God disciplines and chastises those whom He loves. Never shun His correction away.

Thank you Lord for discipline.

Leave a Reply

