Revealing vs Immodest

The talk is softening.

Not in tone, but in compromise. We love softening our consciences – oh, if ONLY it could make us feel better!

And I can hear all the whining… 😉

A few years ago, I was in the company of a few ladies who were quite some older than I. One of them wore a sleeveless vest-shirt and curiously enquired from the other, “Is this shirt fine, is it ok?”

“Yes, of course, it’s not revealing”, came the reply.

I sat and thought… what is not revealing could perhaps be immodest, and what is immodest might be revealing all together.

So what is the difference?

See, we draw the line at the border where our inner judgement can be suppressed, when in actual fact we have completely misinterpreted the meaning of ‘immodest’.

When I was learning to drive, my dad would often tell me that I need to think for the next person as well. How will the next driver react if I make this move? Which way will he turn before I make my next move?

Guys are responsible for their own thought-life. But we women are responsible for that which triggers their wrongful imagination. (in most cases)
We should learn to ‘think for others’. Will a guy be stumbling because of the clothing I choose to wear today? INSYNC_03

Maybe a deep look into our closets will shed some light on our question. Is this skirt too short when I sit? Does that top gulp open when I bend over, and this shirt right here… does it show skin when I lift my arms to stretch for something?

Overall, something may not be revealing, but might very well be immodest.

Job made a covenant with his eyes not to look lustfully at a woman.
What is your covenant? Do we even have any?

We too can make a covenant to dress in such a way that no man will stumble.

Leave a Reply

