Giving thanks!

Less than two years ago, I participated in a thankfulness challenge hosted by my dear friend Rachel Phillips (http://younghomemakers.blogspot.com/). But I don’t think that at the time I knew how much I’d have to put the concept into practise today.
Neither did I grasp the important role a thankful heart plays in our daily (often mundane) tasks.

So how easy is it to be thankful?
Can we give thanks in everything just by merely saying the words?

When life seems to tumble upside down, can I be thankful? When my diary is totally undone at the end of a day, can I give thanks?
Perhaps you’re a busy mom with kids buzzing around you, the phone keeps ringing, the food gets burned and lunch is late, are you thankful for this?
Or perhaps you’re fresh out of college and occupying a new office job, your boss doesn’t understand your tactics, you still have no clue how to answer your callers, and the pressure and stress to meet deadlines makes you wish every day would end sooner. Have you thanked God for your job, for the opportunity to shine His light in such an environment? Have you thanked Him for the pressure, enabling you to learn to cope under the circumstances?
Maybe you’re the lonely walker in life, not knowing where you’ve just come from or where you’re headed to. None of your attempts seem to work out for you and you’re just about ready to quit.
Is there even something to be thankful for? Or have you never given it some thought?

My memory is refreshed with promises from Scripture that everything works together for good to them that love the Lord (Rom 8:28) and that in everything, we are commanded to give thanks (Eph 5:20).

God’s enriching reward for our steadfastness to persevere in the Faith is far beyond what we could ever imagine (1 Cor 2:9). How then shall we not give thanks?

In these days, God has been teaching me that thankfulness is a vital tool in fighting temptation. When criticism and complaints try to find a doorway into my heart, God gives grace to remind us of something we can be thankful for, and to experience the evil one fleeing from us.

If you don’t know what to be thankful for, then look for something.

2 responses to “Giving thanks!

  1. How sweet of you to remember! My yes though..how I too have needed this reminder this year. So much has happened already in my young life, yet I still have so far left to go. The thought can be overwhelming…until I remember that yes, God promises and He *is* faithful. 🙂

    Thank you for this encouragement today my friend and reminder to be on the lookout for God’s goodness in my life every day.
    ~Rachel~

  2. Thanks for writing about this important topic. I think God appreciates
    it when we give thanks. Like the lepor who came back to thank Him after He healed him. It is part of our relationship with him. To thank Him no matter the circumstances. Thank you Lord for Salome.

Leave a Reply

